View Single Post
  #11  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:20 PM
Archive Archive is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 58,359
Default The World's Stupidist Stat

Posted By: Todd Schultz

The save rule has changed over time, but as I understand it, a pitcher can now "earn" a save by entering a game where the tying run is in the on-deck circle, so long as he completes the game without the score being tied. So, in the instance with a slow footed team, a pitcher could come in the ninth with a five-run lead, the bases loaded and needing one out to win, give up seven straight singles to score four and reload the bases, get his catcher to pick off a runner to end the game, and get his save, having himself retired no batters.

Reply With Quote