Quote:
Originally Posted by jayshum
So if there were force outs recorded at third and second, the run still wouldn't have counted.
|
The runner from first (Edman) had actually touched second base before retreating back to first, therefore while he could be put out because 2 runners couldn't both occupy first base, the force was no longer in play for him. There is no rule against him going back to first (except it was already occupied by the batter (Muncy). So only Smith (the runner from second) could be forced out, since he never touched third base. It then becomes a timing play regarding the runner tagging and scoring from third, and if he crossed the plate before Edman was tagged out, the run would have counted.
Weird play.
Rick