View Single Post
  #10  
Old 05-17-2013, 04:19 PM
triwak's Avatar
triwak triwak is offline
Ken Wirt
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankbmd View Post
The referenced play I believe was a low line drive that was ruled to have passed over third base and thus called fair by the third base umpire. I think the ball landed in foul territory. I could be wrong as I was watching Net54 at the same time.

No, if the ump called the ball fair, he must have ruled that the ball was actually a "ground ball," NOT a line drive. Any fly ball that lands in foul territory (the first time it touches the ground) is "foul." But a ground ball that first touches the ground in fair territory and then passes inside of, or over any part of the 1st or 3rd base bag, is deemed "fair."

Last edited by triwak; 05-17-2013 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote