Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Postwar Baseball Cards Forum (Pre-1980) (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Cleaning Cards (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=323464)

RedlegsFan 08-13-2022 12:59 PM

Cleaning Cards

Is there a way to remove these black spots like this off cards? I see a bunch of cards with damage like this. I don’t know if it is mold, or what… i just don’t want to destroy the card even more. Anyone ever have success?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...9ee97f1e13.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

swarmee 08-13-2022 02:13 PM

That would be considering altering the card. There are ways to do it, but they're normally frowned upon as done in bad faith to increase the card's value by scamming. If you're worried about it, throw the card away and buy another one. You should not attempt to remove it.

JollyElm 08-13-2022 04:13 PM

I have had a lot of experience with soaking, but trying to remove something from the back of a card is like having a front row seat to a damage concert. Whereas card fronts have (some of) the protective gloss there to help make something atop it go bye bye, the backs have nothing. That mold is probably there to stay unless some serious chemicals, effort, expense and whatnot are added to the equation, and then, as was stated, it becomes a serious alteration.

GasHouseGang 08-13-2022 05:55 PM

Straight bleach kills mold doesn't it?:D

cannonballsun 08-13-2022 08:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GasHouseGang (Post 2252541)
Straight bleach kills mold doesn't it?:D

It also kills the card.

cannonballsun 08-13-2022 08:08 PM

You could try leaving the card in the sun for a while, but don't over do it.

GasHouseGang 08-13-2022 11:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cannonballsun (Post 2252573)
It also kills the card.

Well if that's the price you have to pay.... I thought it was clear I was joking.