Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Pops (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=335266)

deacon 05-11-2023 09:56 AM

Pops

I'm relatively new to collecting cards and tickets.
In the description of some I've seen POP THREE, POP FOUR etc.
I'm sure someone here can tell me what this indicates.

thanks in advance

WhatsNext 05-11-2023 10:14 AM

Grading companies like PSA, Beckett, and SGC all keep what's called a "Population Report" that lists all the cards they have ever graded. That name is typically shortened to "Pop Report". When someone says a card is POP 1/2/3/4, that means there are only 1/2/3/4 of those cards in existence that have been graded by the company.

deacon 05-11-2023 10:26 AM

great....thanks

perezfan 05-11-2023 11:32 AM

I expected this thread to be about Willie Stargell, so please forgive my ignorance here….

What happens when someone cracks a “pop” out of its slab and re-submits it? What if the “pop” comes back with a different number or is submitted to another Opinion Giver? What if Moser, Huigens or Mathis alter the “pop”, thus rendering the “pop” non-existent and obsolete?

Is there a “slab police” to monitor such activity? Perhaps these are dumb questions, but I would really like to know the answers.

Lordstan 05-11-2023 11:46 AM

The answer is there is no answer. The TPAs have no way of knowing if a card/item is still in their slab or not. IF you crack a card 2 or 3 times and resubmit fishing for a higher grade, the previous grades still are in their system.

The pop report only counts for a specific grader. So pop reports for PSA do not count SGC, etc. Crack a PSA and send to SGC and the same card will be in both reports.