Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Watercooler Talk- ALL sports talk (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Trivia Again - Who am I? (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=323351)

frankbmd 08-10-2022 09:05 PM

Trivia Again - Who am I?

I was a 10 year veteran position player in the big leagues. I played in 2 World Series, was an MVP candidate one year, but never hit a home run in the majors. During my 10 years in the bigs, I never had a baseball card, but my only baseball card was noteworthy. frankbmd obtained my autograph in person, the best day of my life.;)

clydepepper 08-11-2022 09:08 AM

Al Brazle? - nope, he had cards.

But, he did have a 10-year career, was 36th in MVP voting one year, never hit a homer in the Bigs and played in two World Series.

BobbyStrawberry 08-11-2022 09:15 AM

That was fast!

frankbmd 08-11-2022 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobbyStrawberry (Post 2251611)
That was fast!

Quote:

Originally Posted by clydepepper (Post 2251606)
Al Brazle? - nope, he had cards.

But, he did have a 10-year career, was 36th in MVP voting one year, never hit a homer in the Bigs and played in two World Series.

Not so fast Bobby. Brazle is not correct for the reason stated by Mr. Pepper, or is that Dr. Pepper. Furthermore Mr. Brazle was not a position player.

Pitchers, particularly in the DH era, do not hit home runs. The correct answer is a player who never pitched.

I apologize if my understanding of a position player is not universally accepted by the Board.

Hopefully this clarification will not rattle Peter's chain about moving the goal posts in my trivia threads.

Please continue responsding until the correct answer is acknowledged.:D

I also do not have Al Brazle's autograph, nor have I ever had one.

BobbyStrawberry 08-11-2022 09:45 AM

Got it, Frank...I don't think I'll get this one without hints...🤔

clydepepper 08-11-2022 12:50 PM