Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Mickey Mantle ball (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=148813)

urtzie 03-14-2012 07:40 AM

Mickey Mantle ball

1 Attachment(s)
any opinions on authenticity? I am fairly new to this game so any opinions and help is appreciated. collecting for my 5 year old son to have these some day

Attachment 59165

sycks22 03-14-2012 07:47 AM

The 2nd "m" looks a little too shaky for me. Just my opinion.

thetruthisoutthere 03-14-2012 07:50 AM

100% forgery.

GrayGhost 03-14-2012 07:51 AM

No good IMO. M's formation is bad

Donscards 03-14-2012 08:17 AM

Mickey Mantle Auto Ball

1 Attachment(s)
I am always amazed how the members on this board can authenticate the autographed pieces---Here is my Mantle ball that I got years ago in person---I think it looks close to the other ball on here--but I am no expert--so I guess I will ask for opinions----thanks, Don

urtzie 03-14-2012 08:31 AM

I actually reviewed many authentic Mantle pieces and noticed the M's here looked more pointed than his normally were... his seemed more round. Like the old saying goes if it's too good to be true it probably is.

urtzie 03-14-2012 08:33 AM

that ball from Don does look alot like mine.. wow. somebody is good at signing that name that's for sure. I am taking it to authenticator in a few months along with some other pieces.

Mr. Zipper 03-14-2012 08:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urtzie (Post 975520)
that ball from Don does look alot like mine.. wow. somebody is good at signing that name that's for sure. I am taking it to authenticator in a few months along with some other pieces.

I wouldn't waste your cash taking the suspect ball to an authenticator. It is a known forgery style.