Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   O/T 1952 Topps Mickey Mantle for Tornado victims $10 (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=148291)

JasonD08 02-29-2012 08:13 PM

O/T 1952 Topps Mickey Mantle for Tornado victims $10

11 Attachment(s)
Hello all. I am writing this ad with sadness in my heart for the people of my hometown in Harrisburg IL. Approximately 4:53 AM this morning an F4 Tornado ripped through this small Midwest town of 9.000 residents leaving about a third of it in utter destruction. 6 so far are confirmed dead with many injured and many still missing. I know we all have our own issues, but now that I live 8 hours away, I am trying to see the best way I can contribute now. I am a home builder by trade and in weeks to come I will be able to fix and help rebuild in that way, but for now families are hurting and in need of support now. I have spoken to Leon today and with his permission, I would like to offer a raffle type of deal where someone will get a really nice prize and I can help out my own people by taking supplies right away. I am a vintage collector by choice, but I have accumulated many lots of nice stuff via Huggins & Scott, other auction houses etc and I usually pick the vintage I want and wholesale the sets, Wax, newer stuff to other dealers. Luckily, I have a lot of it on hand at the moment. What I would like to do is put together special “packs” of sports cards to sell at $10 each and take that funding to IL ASAP to help with relief, supplies, cash to a needy family, gasoline, food, clothes whatever it takes. My boys and I are working feverishly to make up packs of 15 star cards from various sports. These will consist of stars, HOFers, vintage only and 15 will be included in each pack. The packs will be team bags and each one put into a y