Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   What to do with the shiny stuff (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=237085)

rdwyer 03-18-2017 07:16 PM

What to do with the shiny stuff

I'm donating 70,000+ Baseball, Basketball, Football & Hockey cards to my elementary school where I volunteer. Afterschool the class of First Graders that I volunteer for, are going to be selling 25 cards for a dollar to the students. They can make up to $2800 for their classroom.

That's what you do with the shiny stuff! California schools are taking a big hit this year thanks to Trump. Help your local school.

granite75 03-18-2017 07:38 PM

I'm a teacher and I appreciate you thinking of the schools. I buy a couple of boxes a year and give out the packs to the kids. Though I'm not big on modern cards, they love them.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

vintagetoppsguy 03-18-2017 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rdwyer (Post 1642518)
California schools are taking a big hit this year thanks to Trump.

Seriously? :rolleyes:

rdwyer 03-18-2017 08:02 PM

Yep, gonna be major cuts. Layoffs, etc.

http://www.latimes.com/local/educati...htmlstory.html

Sean 03-18-2017 09:30 PM

Leaving politics aside, that's a great gesture. :)

NiceDocter 03-18-2017 10:44 PM

I gave over 100,000 cards to the local Ronald McDonald house this last year..... remember that brothers and sisters as well as parents of sick children who stay there need distractions from the day to day medical stuff their family is going through..... so why not let em go through some cards and see what they can find? I purposely did NOT pull out stars and rookies, etc so they can have a little boost to their hunting and maybe some joy!

JollyElm 03-19-2017 12:54 AM

Quote: