Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   5 minutes and poof, up in smoke..... (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=172195)

Leon 07-11-2013 12:06 PM

5 minutes and poof, up in smoke.....

2 Attachment(s)
Interesting story of how this card almost went up and flames...

" Thought I would share how I got this card. About 1963 I was a hungry college student and was doing odd jobs including house painting for Mrs. Smith, or Royal Oak, MI, age then perhaps 80+. One afternoon I went into the back yard to throw out some trash and Mrs. Smith was busily feeding letters and post cards into a fire. I asked her if I could have some as I had inherited a card collection from my mother. She looked at me kind of odd, went through the shoe box of cards, threw a few more into the fire and gave me the box of cards. I kept the cards all this time and not till recently decided to look thru her cards and sell on eBay. As I am not a big baseball fan the Ty Cobb card escaped my first inventory. But, of course, eventually realized I had a nice find. If I would have walked out into the back yard back them 5 minutes later all would have been ashes."

ScottFandango 07-11-2013 12:29 PM

nice save

if only we can turn back the clock and stop our mothers from destroying our cards!

tcdyess 07-11-2013 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottFandango (Post 1156972)
if only we can turn back the clock and stop our mothers from destroying our cards!

Then there would be too many of them....

batsballsbases 07-11-2013 01:07 PM

college

Hi Leon,
Nice find but I do believe Im older than you so you might want to check that 1963 hungry college student date!:D:D maybe 1983?;)

Leon 07-11-2013 01:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by batsballsbases (Post 1156985)
Hi Leon,