Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Postwar Baseball Cards Forum (Pre-1980) (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   3 Old Baseball Cards Found in Storage Unit (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=155296)

t206blogcom 08-14-2012 11:32 AM

3 Old Baseball Cards Found in Storage Unit

Not sure if anyone saw this on Ebay last night (Item 330775151531), but the seller had 3 '54 Topps that 'he found in a storage unit'. One of the cards was Hank Aaron, which looked to be in pristine condition. I didn't go for it because I felt the Aaron looked fake - the back was much lighter, centering seemed too perfect. Also, I figured given the other two cards had similar wear and tone, that the Aaron probably would as well given 'it was found in a storage unit'.

I don't have a lot of knowledge or experience with post-war cards, but to me the Aaron looked too good to be true. Since I'm not an expert and spend most of my time in the pre-war side of collecting, I wanted to ask the group here - did I dodge a bullet or miss a steal?

Thanks!

tcjsavannah 08-14-2012 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by t206blogcom (Post 1025886)
Not sure if anyone saw this on Ebay last night (Item 330775151531), but the seller had 3 '54 Topps that 'he found in a storage unit'. One of the cards was Hank Aaron, which looked to be in pristine condition. I didn't go for it because I felt the Aaron looked fake - the back was much lighter, centering seemed too perfect. Also, I figured given the other two cards had similar wear and tone, that the Aaron probably would as well given 'it was found in a storage unit'.

I don't have a lot of knowledge or experience with post-war cards, but to me the Aaron looked too good to be true. Since I'm not an expert and spend most of my time in the pre-war side of collecting, I wanted to ask the group here - did I dodge a bullet or miss a steal?

Thanks!