PDA

View Full Version : 100 yr. anniversary approaching for some historic sets!!

Archive
01-03-2008, 02:15 PM
Posted By: <b>marty quinn</b><p><br />hello gent's,<br /> i would like to hear some input on the 100 yr. ann. for sets most of you collect on this forum.<br /><br /> will there be a price impact as these dates approach?? (lets use the t-206 as an eg.) if so in what way?<br /> this set along with ...e-95,...e90-1....e92...e93....e98...m116s.l., and so on and so on, will the "investor"<br /> destroy the opportunity for the collector? meaning will they drive up price aready on the rise for some years now.<br /> <br /> i have been doing cardboard for about 25 years now, i have been out of baseball for about 5 years focusing mostly<br /> on vintage nonsports. i have noticed about 25% increase on avg for most of what i had (sold)and now trying to buy back<br /> i have been back for about 4 months, i have kept watch all of this time just not active, my 1950's -early 70's set run is nm<br /> (at least) but raw, and will reamin raw, but i do collect my pre-war graded, if i have to compete with big swings in the next <br /> 1-3 years i might as well wait (or not attempt at all). what do most of you think?? or will nothing at all happen.<br /><br /> it might be a little early to start talking about it, but imho it might be a good time to start watching.<br /><br /> also...here is a "nerve" pincher! will this also be a time for more (i can't believe i'm going to say it)<br /> altered cards to hit the hobby? i know scammers don't take a day off, but they might get in overtime. <br /> <br /> i appreciate all who responds.....as usaul i am sure some great input will come from this post.

Archive
01-03-2008, 03:50 PM