PDA

View Full Version : 1886 vintage paper w/ St. Louis players???

Archive
11-03-2007, 09:36 AM
Posted By: <b>George</b><p>Does anyone on the board know what this is?<br /><br /><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=110185317605" target="_new" rel="nofollow">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=110185317605</a><br /><br />Something didn't seem right about the look of the players glued to the "vintage" paper. The look of the players vaguely resemble the photos on the N370 Lone Jack cards but I have not been able to find any possible connection beyond that.<br /><br /><br /><br />

Archive
11-03-2007, 09:47 AM
Posted By: <b>Phil Garry</b><p>I'm not an expert on this stuff but are those the same images used for the 1888 Scrapp's issue?

Archive
11-03-2007, 09:52 AM
Posted By: <b>dstudeba</b><p>They did remind me of the Scrapps. I just assumed they were woodcuts from some magazine that someone had pasted together and passed on it. I could very easily be wrong.

Archive
11-03-2007, 09:53 AM
Posted By: <b>George</b><p>Hi Phil,<br />That's a good observation...they do look similar to the scrapps although they are not scrapps. Maybe there's a connection there...not sure?<br /><br />George

Archive
11-03-2007, 11:52 AM
Posted By: <b>Dan Bretta</b><p>Probably cutouts from a Harper's Weekly. Leslie's or some other magazine of the day.

Archive
11-03-2007, 12:01 PM
Posted By: <b>George</b><p>Folks,<br />Thanks for all the great info! I was thinking in my one-track mind that it had to be a "traditional" card of some sort versus a cut out but after seeing some of the comments here and looking back at the photos, that would make a lot of sense.

Archive
11-03-2007, 12:16 PM
Posted By: <b>davidcycleback</b><p>I recall that there was a period St. Louis newspaper that had a woodcut of the team. I don't recall exactly what it looked like but it showed the various players.

Archive
11-03-2007, 12:21 PM