PDA

View Full Version : 1933 Canadian World Wide Gum card values?

Archive
08-25-2004, 07:23 AM
Posted By: <b>Brad Freeman</b><p>I would like some advice from the members here regarding the relative value of the Canadian issue versus the US Goudey issue. I am just beginning to look at that year and noticed that there are some of the Canadian versions on EBAY. Are these considered to be desirable collectibles? Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Archive
08-25-2004, 09:27 AM
Posted By: <b>jay behrens</b><p>They are a cheaper alternative to the American version, but not by much. The Ruth and Bengough are significantly cheaper, but the other HOFers are cheaper, but not as much as so as the Ruth a Bengough. The big appeal to the set is that it looks exactly like the American version, but you only have to pay for 2 Ruth cards and Bengough is far cheaper than the American version.<br /><br />Jay<br><br>I like to sit outside, drink beer and yell at people. If I did this at home I would be arrested, so I go to baseball games and fit right in.

Archive
08-25-2004, 03:47 PM
Posted By: <b>Andrew</b><p>Not that logic governs this hobby, but I would think that since World Wide Gum is scarcer than Goudey prices would reflect this. I make this assumption based on POP reports and the number of Ebay listings. At any given time there's a Ruth, Gehrig, etc. Goudey for list, but much less frequent for WWG. In regard to POP reports:<br /><br />1933 Goudey Ruth #53 - 330 graded<br />1933 Goudey Gehrig #92 - 525<br />1933 Goudey Ruth #144 - 484<br />1933 Goudey Ruth #149 - 357<br />1933 Goudey Gehrig #160 - 284<br />1933 Goudey Ruth #181 - 428<br />1933 WWG Gehrig #55 - 20<br />1933 WWG Ruth #80 - 31<br />1933 WWG Ruth #93 - 17<br /><br />1934 Goudey Gehrig #37 - 341<br />1934 Goudey Gehrig #61 - 314<br />1934 WWG Ruth #28 - 19<br />1934 WWG Gehrig #92 - 10<br /><br />Same logic can be applied to 1965-1976 OPC-Topps, but same outcome there.<br /><br />

Archive
08-25-2004, 04:27 PM