PDA

View Full Version : Scranton Club

Archive
05-31-2004, 12:37 PM
Posted By: <b>stephen</b><p>I have 11 baseball cards that are formatted as post cards (a trademark logo on the address side is a stylized TR Co). The front is green (accented with white and gold) with a baseball diamond, crossed bats, two player figures, and a round "frame" that contains a black and white, head and shoulders shot of a player from the "Scranton Club." The caps have very small bills and the collars of the uniform are turned up. Only the last names of the players are given: Beckendorf, Bills, Ely, Graham, Groh, Houser, Kellogg, Kittredge, Moran, Schultz, and Steele.<BR><BR>I am a novice. If you have any information about these cards, I would appreciate hearing from you. Thanks.

Archive
05-31-2004, 01:49 PM
Posted By: <b>jay behrens</b><p>Sounds like they may be some custom made Rose postcards. A scan would be a great help.<BR><BR>Jay

Archive
05-31-2004, 02:08 PM
Posted By: <b>Kevin O</b><p>Stephen,<BR><BR>Check out this thread: <BR><BR><a href="http://www.network54.com/Forum/thread?forumid=153652&messageid=1077948429&lp=1078197728" target=_new>http://www.network54.com/Forum/thread?forumid=153652&messageid=1077948429&lp=1078197728</a><BR><BR>If what you have is authentic, congratulations.

Archive
06-01-2004, 12:54 PM
Posted By: <b>Bob Lemke</b><p>Unlike the one-of-a-kind or collectors' issue Springfield Rose PCs which were so widely discussed recently, the Scranton players are considered to be a legitimate part of the set since they were produced in quantity. The 11 players mentioned by Stephen comprise the complete known team set.

Archive
06-01-2004, 05:02 PM
Posted By: <b>Kevin O</b><p>Everyone knows the Scranton set is "legit." That's been discussed a number of times (see the thread referenced). Unless we see Stephen's actual set, however, we can't say for sure that they are "authentic."

Archive
06-01-2004, 08:39 PM