PDA

View Full Version : T5 Pinkertons (trying again)

Archive
04-20-2004, 08:53 AM
Posted By: <b>Tim Newcomb</b><p>What can you experts tell me about this set? Does anyone have any of them? How tough are they, really?<BR><BR>I just BINed one from ebay. Did I overpay for it?<BR><BR>But mostly I'd just like to hear about your experiences with it, if any, since I'm a total T5 newbie.<BR><BR>Thanks,<BR><BR>Tim<BR><BR><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4125773714&category=31719&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBWN%3AIT&rd=1" target=_new>http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4125773714&category=31719&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBWN%3AIT&rd=1</a>

Archive
04-20-2004, 09:40 AM
Posted By: <b>Jimmy Scott Elkins</b><p>Wish I would have seen that one! Anyway, these are exceedingly rare. I am still kicking myself over not going after a T5 Cobb Cabinet a few years ago in a Mastronet auction (the cool one with him leaping to catch a ball). I believe the card went for under or around $3k - which was a steal, especially in the nice condition it was in. Most of the time when you do see these, you see the postcard "reprints". Fortunately, the value for these has not approached anywhere near their rarity yet (I guess because they are so rare that people tend to collect T3's - something they stand a chance of completing a set of). These are way undervalued in my opinion and I TRULY believe you acquired yours at a terrific price! People may argue, but I would estimate that these TRUE T5 Cabinets are OVER 100 times rarer than a T3. I remember a few years ago on the old bulletin board I talked about how undervalued T216 VA Extra cards were and they were rarer than T206 Drum backs - look at their prices in the SCD now!!!!!!!!!

Archive
04-20-2004, 12:14 PM
Posted By: <b>hankron</b><p>Tim, the T5s are rare, and unique in style (real photo cabinet cards) for 20th century tobacco cards. I wouldn't think you overpaid.

Archive
04-20-2004, 02:27 PM