PDA

View Full Version : Question about vintage proof cards

Archive
07-19-2003, 11:12 AM
Posted By: <b>TBob</b><p>There seem to be a number of proof cards on ebay lately, from Sporting Lifes to Goudeys as I was wondering what the consensus was on the true nature of the cards. Alan Hager is the seller and of course he has all the proofs neatly encapsulated in ASA holders (which he owned/owns) and graded himself. The Chance Sporting Life card, in my mind, could easily be cut from an advertising poster and in no way is it EXMT, closer to VG if that, but I have no knowledge of the Sports Kings proofs. Anyone hazard a guess?<BR><BR><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=217&item=2742150716" target=_new>http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=217&item=2742150716</a><BR><BR><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2743002567&category=31718" target=_new>http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2743002567&category=31718</a>

Archive
07-19-2003, 06:04 PM
Posted By: <b>Patrick McMenemy</b><p>I have seen other M116 blank back cards including Ira Thomas,and the general hobby opinion is that these blank backs were cut from an advertising poster.

Archive
07-20-2003, 02:26 AM
Posted By: <b>Hankron</b><p>I'll tell ya, I once pulled a blank back Oscar Gamble from a grocery store pack and I've had blank back proofs that came straight from the Topps archives. If I didn't know the provenance of the cards, there would be no way for me to tell which one was a proof and which one was a blank back error. There are times when a card is obviously a proof (the T206s with the little crosses, or one color progression proofs on mylar). But in many cases there's no practical way to tell, so one shouldn't loose sleep over the issue.

Archive
07-20-2003, 02:35 AM