PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to game used… advice for HOF collector?

Belfast1933
05-18-2022, 07:24 AM
Hello all

I am toying with dipping into certified (if that’s what it’s called) game used equipment and or shirts to pump my baseball “man cave”
To another level

Can I ask for general advice on:

- is it a pipe dream to imagine I could get a game used HOF jersey for under $1k?
- what are my best sources to shop, research, find authentic/legit equipment deals?
- any other game used equipment that may be cool on display but at a more affordable price point? Maybe gloves? Catchers masks? Batting gloves?

This may be a BIG mistake drifting here 😂 but I love vintage cards but would love to have some nicer complementary items to add to the “cave” See below for the look of my happy place today

Thx all

Jeff

Lordstan
05-18-2022, 08:29 AM
- is it a pipe dream to imagine I could get a game used HOF jersey for under $1k?
I am no expert on game used stuff, but I don't think you will likely be able to find game used HOF jerseys for under $1k. Perhaps old timers game type stuff or replicas might be good alternatives for display purposes.

- what are my best sources to shop, research, find authentic/legit equipment deals?
Same as for all the other stuff we buy. Lots of stuff on eBay. There are a ton of auction houses out there and game used stuff is peppered into all of them. I know there used to be one that kind of specialized in game used uninforms, but I forget the name right now. Not sure if they are still around. There are dealers that specialize in this stuff as well. Mei-Grey does a lot of jerseys, iirc. I am sure others on the board may have names of other dealers. Certainly the National in AC in July will have plenty on display.

- any other game used equipment that may be cool on display but at a more affordable price point? Maybe gloves? Catchers masks? Batting gloves?