PDA

View Full Version : Detecting 1934 Goudey Reprints

ngrow9
11-29-2020, 06:28 AM
I'm relatively new to the 1934 Goudey set, and I'm trying to learn as much as I can about detecting reprints. For many of them, I can quickly tell, due to the coloration, cropping of the bottom Gehrig Says logo, etc. For the better fakes, however, I find it more difficult.

For instance, this reprint sold relatively recently on eBay:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1-Day-Auction-1934-Goudey-Lou-Gehrig-Baseball-Card/133545222229

The coloring (especially the back), Gehrig Says logo, etc., generally look right to me. Are there any tells here that I'm missing? Or is it just very difficult to detect the better fakes online?

Obviously I know not to buy a high dollar value raw card from the set, at least until I have a heck of a lot more experience with them . But just trying to learn what to look for. Many thanks in advance.

Aquarian Sports Cards
11-29-2020, 07:05 AM
The card in question has myriad issues. Start with the listing. Guy had virtually no feedback and is running a one day auction. Even before you look at the card that should be setting off warning bells.

The card itself has issues too. The edges are just weird. Possibly a Dover reprint that had to have perforations removed? The image on the front is obviously a reproduction. It's not as crisp as an original. The back is all sorts of wrong. I don't know if it was a bad attempt at aging or what, but that mottled brown color is something I have never seen on a real Goudey. You can also more easily see that all of the borders are fuzzy which is also something I've never seen on a Goudey.

Hope this helps.

chalupacollects
11-29-2020, 07:06 AM
Paper is wrong, back is too dark...

ngrow9
11-29-2020, 07:19 AM