PDA

View Full Version : Goldin Elite, REA, Heritage, Uncle Jimmy .....

Snapolit1
07-27-2020, 06:56 AM
Other auctions like LOTG coming shorty ....

So much stuff. Kind of mind boggling. Where does it all come from.

bnorth
07-27-2020, 07:12 AM

A gentleman in Wisconsin.:eek::D

Shoeless Moe
07-27-2020, 07:14 AM

Pretty much like this every year. Actually less this year.

Hunt usually has theirs at the All Star Game, they didn't have one this summer (yet)

Huggins usually has one around the time of the National (late July/early Aug) they are delayed until October.

SCP & Memory Lane usually have a summer one, have not seen them yet.

MCyganik
07-27-2020, 07:46 AM
I'm new to the high-end auction game so I'm probably wrong, but isn't a lot of this stuff, especially cards, cyclical? Unless a certain card or memorabilia piece falls into a die-hard collectors hands (which many do), an investor will buy it, sit on it for a couple of years and let it appreciate in value and then resell.

Snapolit1
07-27-2020, 07:50 AM
I'm new to the high-end auction game so I'm probably wrong, but isn't a lot of this stuff, especially cards, cyclical? Unless a certain card or memorabilia piece falls into a die-hard collectors hands (which many do), an investor will buy it, sit on it for a couple of years and let it appreciate in value and then resell.

In many cases that's exactly what happens. Sometimes people sit on it for 3 months and they buy and immediately list in next big auction. There is a Joe Jackson card that has been in 20 auctions in the last 4 years.

Ina my experience the turn around quickly sell strategy doesn't work so well. If you were the guy wiling to pay the most in January, many times you will take a loss in June.

perezfan
07-27-2020, 10:31 AM
Pretty much like this every year. Actually less this year.

Hunt usually has theirs at the All Star Game, they didn't have one this summer (yet)