PDA

View Full Version : Who is the player and does he have a card?

n5gwu
02-25-2019, 09:54 AM
I graduated high school in 1968 in Mableton, GA, going to Pebblebrook High School. As you turn out of the school parking lot there was, across the street, a sand dredging operation and out front, on a pretty good sized billboard, it pictured a baseball player sliding into home base with the caption (name escapes me) and "Longest Slide since Ty Cobb". Anyone know of a player with that dubious honor? I suspect he was from around that part of Georgia, can't picture the uniform, can't remember the name. Just something that has bugged me for a lot of years. I visited the area a few years back but everything is gone or built up in expensive houses (whole area was a swamp when I went to high school there.

I know it's not much to go on, but would be eternally (or even longer) grateful if someone came up with a name and maybe a picture of the card of the gentleman.

With that I could look for old neighbors and ask them if they knew him by name.

Stranger things have happened. Growing up my folks had a place up on Lake Lanier. Luke Appling was a neighbor but he was a pretty grumpy old man, didn't want to talk baseball with kids and didn't want to sign anything. I got chased off his porch more than once.

T206Collector
02-25-2019, 11:31 AM
I'm going to guess that this was a marketing expression used by the sand dredging company. Sand dredgers use long metal devices that I believe look like slides. If a player was shown, he was probably meant to be Ty Cobb.

n5gwu
02-25-2019, 12:09 PM
That makes sense when you put it that way.
Thanks for your insight and I'll put my mind to rest.

Steve D
02-25-2019, 03:55 PM
I would guess that T206collector's idea is correct.

I just looked on baseball-reference.com, and the only MLers who went to high school in Mableton, GA are Sam Fuller and Kenneth Straus (Whitefield Academy), and Chuck James (Mableton Christian Academy).