PDA

View Full Version : Mantle and Aaron opinion please

theshleps
02-05-2019, 11:12 PM
Thanks in advance for your opinions

Mr. Zipper
02-06-2019, 06:45 AM
The two unslabbed Mantles are not good IMO. Not sure on the Aaron.

Is the SGC slab just authenticating the "card" and NOT the autographs? That one needs a better closeup.

Yastrzemski Sports
02-06-2019, 07:01 AM
The two unslabbed Mantles are not good IMO. Not sure on the Aaron.

Is the SGC slab just authenticating the "card" and NOT the autographs? That one needs a better closeup.

The SGC slab has a cert # starting with au (under players names) so it is an older slab for autograph authentication.

I am not good with Authentication but is the 59 as a stamp?

Mr. Zipper
02-06-2019, 07:43 AM
Before SGC had their own autograph authentication, they used JSA and the slabs would indicate "J Spence Auth." Once SGC had their own autograph authentication, they had red labels.

So, I could be wrong, but I am not convinced this slab has received "autograph authentication." I believe it may be authentication for the card only.

In any case, a larger image is needed to make a determination.

The Mantle signature on the 59 card appears malformed to me and I doubt it is a stamp. A larger image would help.

shelly
02-06-2019, 08:22 AM
First two Mantles:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad

SetBuilder
02-06-2019, 11:26 AM
Before SGC had their own autograph authentication, they used JSA and the slabs would indicate "J Spence Auth." Once SGC had their own autograph authentication, they had red labels.

So, I could be wrong, but I am not convinced this slab has received "autograph authentication." I believe it may be authentication for the card only.

In any case, a larger image is needed to make a determination.

The Mantle signature on the 59 card appears malformed to me and I doubt it is a stamp. A larger image would help.