PDA

View Full Version : PWCC Auction #1 2019 (1948-62) - Thoughts?

vortep
01-16-2019, 02:57 PM
Hi folks

I am new to the trading card world, but dipping my toes into it. I participated in the PWCC auctions over the last couple of days, as my focus has been on both pre- and post-war cards up to but not including the 1980s.

I flamed out on the pre-war auctions, but had some degree of success securing a few cards from the '50s era.

How did you guys go and, if so, what was your take on the post-war results from PWCC's auction #1 from this era?

I look forward to getting to know you all.

Suitntieguy
01-16-2019, 04:18 PM
The cards I was tracking, which was mostly mid-grade mantles and high grade HOFers, by and large went for insane dollars. Example, I bought a 56 aaron PSA 6 a month ago for $230, passed on one for $237. Last night @ PWCC it went for $370. My mouth was wide open in shock most of the night.

vortep
01-16-2019, 04:26 PM
Yeah, admittedly I'm a novice, but I'm a conscientious novice - I wasn't in the ballpark for correctly estimating values for higher end pre-war stuff that I was following (even if not bidding for).

Even for post-war stuff I struggled to understand some of the value differences, for example there were two Koufax (1955 Topps Sandy Koufax #123), one SGC 7 and one PSA 7. The PSA was designated a 3 eye appeal by PWCC and the SGC a 2, but the SGC one went for almost $2.7k and the PSA one for almost $4.3k. Based on the research I could find PSA7 '55 Koufax #123 was going for around $2.5k last year - so a jump to over $4k, even for something with great eye appeal was educational for me.

I'm not sure which is better value frankly! I guess I have a lot to learn.

STL1944
01-16-2019, 07:16 PM
It just takes two people really wanting a card to see some big price jumps.

PWCC does a great job with their photography and has a following of card buyers. I buy from them a couple of times a year in auctions but I find many of their cards sell for high.