PDA

View Full Version : I am new - need help with mantle, Williams, DiMagio

Case12
11-29-2018, 09:32 AM
Hi all - I have been collecting for 25 years. I have over 100 signed baseballs -vintage. I also collect astronaut, military, politics, celebrity, and vintage race car drivers. I have studied exemplars all these years and know the "fake" stuff. Or so I thought. I bought mantle, Williams and DiMagio single signed balls in the early 90's (pre operation bullpen, JSA or even PSA) when I lived in FL. Got from dealers at shows (with COAs, but that means little to me). I got burned on a Robinson and Cobb. James Spencer helped me....and he had to study them and even get other experts. In the end they had to say no. Bummer - but he is an A+ guy to work with.
So back to these balls. They look darn good to me, but PSA at a show did a free look and said no. I must be missing the signs of what makes them think they are fake. Of course, these 3 are often faked, so I was hoping somebody on the board here could take a quick look at photos and let me know thoughts. It's ok if they are fake...I would like to know why since I thought I knew them pretty well. I thank you so much...it has bugged me for years ;-(. Casey

Mr. Zipper
11-29-2018, 09:33 AM
0 for 3.

Sorry.

Case12
11-29-2018, 09:39 AM
What are the signs they are fake?

Lordstan
11-29-2018, 10:26 AM
Banana M's
Open A's in Williams
Joe d is just bad

Duluth Eskimo
11-29-2018, 10:31 AM
I agree. Those are no good.

Mr. Zipper
11-29-2018, 11:14 AM
What are the signs they are fake?

They are common mass-produced cookie cutter forgery styles.

Case12
11-29-2018, 11:53 AM
Many thanks!! I will mark them and let the dogs play with them. I got 25 years of enjoying thinking they were real :-). Never planned to sell them anyway. Now...off to find real Mantle - maybe just a pic this time. See some on eBay I like.

Case12
11-29-2018, 12:37 PM
Banana M's
Open A's in Williams
Joe d is just bad