PDA

View Full Version : Wild Bill Hutchinson

Shankweather
05-29-2018, 12:19 PM
I'm so stoked I got this card. I've been collecting Cubs cards for 25 years, and seriously collecting prewar for 15, and this is the first time I've ever seen a Wild Bill for sale. There's a total of 6 graded between PSA and SGC, so I wasn't sure I would ever see one. He's one of the greatest Cubs pitchers of all time, second only to Charlie Root in innings pitched, so my collection was incomplete without him. I would have paid ten times the ending price!

Now to cross it over to SGC and hope for that 2!

https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/x20AAOSwlzZa~yri/s-l1600.jpg

t206fix
05-29-2018, 12:34 PM
Congrats! Nice looking card!

oldjudge
05-29-2018, 12:43 PM
Nice pickup! Don't use the pop reports as a measure of Old Judge availability. Especially for non-HOFers the vast majority of cards are ungraded.

Den*nis O*Brien
05-29-2018, 12:47 PM
And good luck on your Cubs quest!! Also....that is a very decent image.

Shankweather
05-29-2018, 12:50 PM
Nice pickup! Don't use the pop reports as a measure of Old Judge availability. Especially for non-HOFers the vast majority of cards are ungraded.

I know it's not a perfect measure, but when Ned Williamson has 115 graded and Bill has 6, I tend to assume I've got a better shot at Ned. Plus I've just never seen one, graded or ungraded.

oldjudge
05-29-2018, 01:45 PM
Fair point. Hutchinson is a scarcer than average card, Williamson is a relatively common card. If I were to guess I would say there are 30-40 copies of Hutchinson, amongst all four poses, floating around. As you no doubt know, he is one of the few Yale graduates to play Major League baseball.

Shankweather
05-29-2018, 02:00 PM
Thanks for the guess at the Hutchinson population. I know a lot more about the Cubs in general than I do about Old Judge. Now if you could just point me towards the nearest Clark Griffith or Chicago King Kelly!

oldjudge
05-29-2018, 02:17 PM