PDA

View Full Version : Roger Maris Signed Photo - Thoughts?

ATP
11-19-2017, 09:44 PM
What's the consensus on this signed Maris photo inscribed to "Jeffrey". Thanks for looking :)

Runscott
11-20-2017, 10:43 AM
The 'Maris' is spot-on compared to many PSA examples. I don't like the ones where the right leg of the 'R' goes down and right as opposed to right and down, but that's just me.

It's either real or it's an example by a very prolific forger who has not yet been figured out by PSA.

ATP
11-20-2017, 02:07 PM
Thanks for the reply on the Maris autogrpah, Scott, I appreciate it :)

Runscott
11-21-2017, 10:03 AM
Thanks for the reply on the Maris autogrpah, Scott, I appreciate it :)

My pleasure Jeff. I'm not a professional autograph authenticator, so I can give opinions without worrying about soiling my reputation :)

BTW - when I said 'Maris' I was referring to 'Maris' in the autograph, not the entire autograph. Curiously (to me), I found examples where the 'Maris' portion matched yours exactly, but the 'Roger' part did not. Another reason why I am not fond of this version of his autograph, even though it might be legit.

pbspelly
11-21-2017, 10:51 AM
The 'Maris' is spot-on compared to many PSA examples. I don't like the ones where the right leg of the 'R' goes down and right as opposed to right and down, but that's just me.

It's either real or it's an example by a very prolific forger who has not yet been figured out by PSA.

Prolific or proficient?

Runscott
11-21-2017, 11:29 AM
Prolific or proficient?

Couldn't say - I honestly don't know if it's real. It isn't in my wheelhouse.

If I were interested in this autograph I would make a few calls and then could easily make a decision. I do that every now and then when I see a 1970+ Mantle autograph that looks interesting.

ATP
11-21-2017, 11:42 AM