PDA

View Full Version : Is this irresponsible?

earlywynnfan
11-04-2017, 06:24 PM
Just wondering if I'm overthinking this, but does anyone else find this irresponsible? Seller has listed Tony Cloninger's contract which clearly shows his SS #: https://www.ebay.com/itm/282715595402?ul_noapp=true

I emailed him, but he ignored me.

icollectDCsports
11-04-2017, 06:26 PM
Just wondering if I'm overthinking this, but does anyone else find this irresponsible? Seller has listed Tony Cloninger's contract which clearly shows his SS #: https://www.ebay.com/itm/282715595402?ul_noapp=true

I emailed him, but he ignored me.

Yep. Unfortunate that the seller would not place something over the SSN to hide it in the photo.

tazdmb
11-05-2017, 07:34 AM
Being a CPA, I know in Michigan it is State Crime to publicly list a SS#.

clydepepper
11-05-2017, 10:11 AM
I just sent the seller an alert the need to change his scan to cover the SSN. Let's see if he has the integrity to take the appropriate action...

Topnotchsy
11-05-2017, 11:09 AM
Meanwhile it might make sense not to have the item linked here...

clydepepper
11-05-2017, 12:05 PM
I found eight other SIGNED PLAYERS CONTRACT listing which also contained that player's SSN.

I have reported all eight using their on-screen prompt, but have also contacted Ebay by phone and provided both a description of the possible illegality and the item number for each instance.

On the positive side, I did find one listing, for Tom Acker, that was done correctly where the player's SSN was blurred out.

The Ebay rep said that he appreciated the initiative shown - and let me know what I already knew - that, with as many items as are listed, it's virtually impossible to notice all of them.

Thanks to my fellow Net54 members for sending out the first alerts on this...we should all feel like we have accomplished something positive today!

earlywynnfan
11-05-2017, 06:13 PM
I had sent him a message before I posted here, no response.

RichardSimon