PDA

View Full Version : Venezuelan or Topps?

Bestdj777
03-30-2017, 07:43 PM
Hi all,

I recently picked these two cards up from a seller in Venezuela. The top is supposed to be a Venezuelan Topps while the bottom is supposed to be a regular Topps card. Any thoughts on whether the first is actually a Venezuelan? I don't have it in hand yet and it is hard to discern from pictures, but I do think it is good. I have a couple of other 1960 Venezuelan Mantle/Boyer cards that I'll compare this to when it arrives but figured I'd see if anyone had any thoughts in the interim. Also, thoughts on grades for the top one would be appreciated. I am assuming PSA would give it a 1, but hoping it would be a little bit higher.

Thanks in advance,

Chris

http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/6Z4AAOSwuxFYuvjH/s-l1600.jpg

http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/57wAAOSwuxFYuvi7/s-l1600.jpg

swarmee
03-30-2017, 07:55 PM
1.5-2.5 to me. Won't get a MC for the back that far down the scale. I'm not a Venezuelan expert (or collector really) but it sort of looks like the normal card. I would expect the paper stock to be different when you get it in hand, if it's a Venezuelan.

Bestdj777
03-30-2017, 08:04 PM
1.5-2.5 to me. Won't get a MC for the back that far down the scale. I'm not a Venezuelan expert (or collector really) but it sort of looks like the normal card. I would expect the paper stock to be different when you get it in hand, if it's a Venezuelan.

Thanks John. I appreciate you weighing in. The 1960 Venezuelans are incredibly difficult to distinguish, so it sort of looks like a normal card to me as well. If it wasn't coming from Venezuela, I'd be a little more skeptical. I am assuming it will be easier to discern in hand.

I'd love a solid 2.5 on this one. I have a 1(MC) and an authentic that probably would be a 2 or so if I cracked and resubmitted--was cut a little too short for the grader but certainly wasn't altered.

swarmee
03-30-2017, 08:16 PM