PDA

View Full Version : 1989 Upper Deck Black test?

Jim65
11-19-2016, 12:30 PM
Can't find much about this, is it a legitimate test issue?

philliesphan
11-20-2016, 02:39 AM
Never heard of it before - seems dubious, at best. I can't think of a legitimate reason a card company would even want to test a black-bordered card in the late 1980s.

ALR-bishop
11-20-2016, 10:12 AM
http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=197063

JustinD
11-20-2016, 10:42 AM
I looked at the blow ups on the listing and this looks super questionable.

The surface just seems too rough for real stock and gloss used by UD. Also the darkness of the face where you cannot even see his eyes is unlike the original printing. Seems like it was darkened by scanning and photoshopping.

I wouldn't touch it.

ALR-bishop
11-20-2016, 12:15 PM
The 89 set is the only UD set I have. I am no expert on UD, but the guy who started the prior thread I posted above has posted some of the rarest stuff I have seen on the board, mostly Topps though. I would take chance at the right price. Even if fake the fact there are others make it an interesting piece.

The SCD Standard Catalog has at least two Topps listings I know of that are designated as fakes and still get a listing

Reminds me some of cards discussed in this thread

http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=191504

JustinD
11-20-2016, 12:38 PM
Definitely possible Al,

I always am hesitant on oddities and errors during this time frame. The UD issue was rampant with faked errors like erasing stats or using chemicals to take off ink. Even down to the recent discovery of hoards of the black box error, which is factory but manufactured for excitement.

At the time of release this would have been a profitable move to create these. They might be a proof run to experiment color patterns, but looking at the ebay listing it would have to been done on completely different printing equipment and different stock and quality.