PDA

View Full Version : Mantle & other players' autographs on 1953 dinner program

Dave8
09-14-2016, 02:44 PM
Hi folks,

I'm new to the net54 forum, but have been reading for a while. It's a great resource and I've learned much as I am going through my sports card collection from the 60s and 70s. I came across an item that I had forgotten I had and I'd be curious to see what the autograph experts here thought.

It's a 1953 program from a "Diamond Dinner" held in Tulsa, Oklahoma. A friend of the family gave it to us many decades ago. These dinners were annual events back in the day to honor current and former sports icons, mostly from the state. This program has autographs from these attendees that night:

1 - Mickey Mantle (Yankees)
2 - Allie Reynolds (Yankees)
3 - Dale Mitchell (Indians)
4 - Pepper Martin (Yankees)
5 - Lou Kretlow (White Sox, Browns, Tigers, etc.)
6 - Warren Spahn (Braves)
7 - Robert Morgan (Dodgers, Phillies, etc.)
8 - Billy Vessels (1952 Heisman Trophy Winner from OU; played for Baltimore Colts)

I'm in the process of getting it authenticated and am planning to consign it for auction. What is the rough value of an item like this?

I've attached a picture of the front and inside cover. It's a small booklet of 8-10 pages and also has bios of the sports figures being honored.

Thanks!

David

RichardSimon
09-14-2016, 03:41 PM
Dave,
I don't know what you will have to pay for authentication, I am not a TPA fan, but I don't know if any of those autographs have much value except for the vintage Mantle and Pepper Martin.
There might be a guy who was deceased at a young age in that group.
It won't be a real easy sell because aside from the dinner there is nothing to connect those players.
Interesting item but IMHO it won't get you a lot. If you find the right guy maybe a few hundred but finding the right guy on this one might not be easy.
The right guy, who will know the autographs are good, might be here. Try the BST before you spend with the TPA's.