PDA

View Full Version : New Collector

Chief Noc-A-Homa
09-06-2016, 10:41 AM
[Whoops, I made a newbie move and originally posted this in the wrong subforum (I thought I was in the right one, I swear!). Now correctly here in the "Intro" section]

Hey all,

New collector here. I collected as a kid in the 90s but mainly for completing sets. Those were eventually handed down as I got older and lost forever (based on some things I have read, they are not worth much nowadays anyways).

I have been putting off getting back into collecting for a few years but recently decided to take the plunge. I want to collect Topps Atlanta Braves from 1966 - ??? .

Not knowing anything, I walked into a hobby shop spent $15/card for a PSA 8 1998 Topps Lords of the Diamond Greg Maddux, PSA 9 1993 Bowman Chipper Jones foil, and PSA 10 1991 Topps Chipper Jones. I probably got fleeced on all three but I suppose it is part of the learning process. I had also bought a "blaster box" at Target of 2016 Topps Heritage but soon realized I wanted to do more targeted (pun not intended, but I'll take it!) collecting rather than ending up with a bunch of commons I have no interest in.

Would love recommendations as to how I can go about doing so. I know eBay is my best bet and I guess I should start hitting up card shows. I suppose starting at 1966 and working my way up is a good direction. My goals are to collect Topps Braves, as I said, and ideally for value when I can (graded Hank Aaron cards, etc.) and the occasional HOF or possible future HOF (Kris Bryant, etc.) if the opportunity arises.

In any case, I look forward to learning and discussing baseball cards with everyone as I weave my way through this somewhat daunting hobby.

vintagetoppsguy
09-06-2016, 10:48 AM
Welcome to the board. Just out of curiosity, why '66? The year the Braves moved to Atlanta? No interest in the Boston or Milwaukee Braves (Spahn, Mathews, etc)? Good luck with your quest!

Chief Noc-A-Homa
09-06-2016, 10:51 AM