PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on very rare autograph book!

KristinErickson404
07-08-2016, 10:38 AM
Hi all:
This is my first time here. I found you guys while searching for advice on how to sell an autograph book O acquired and would like to sell. It has some extremely rare autographs in it and any advice you could give me as to where to sell it )or if any of you would like to buy it :-) would be wonderful.

Here's the deal:
I bought this from a friend of mine who is absolutely reputable. 110%. This is an autograph book an older teenager named Margaret Slaughter kept from about 1933-1939. She was the daughter of the man who owned a number of higher end hotels including the Clarendon in Daytona Beach and others. Many celebrities and sports figures stayed there, performed there and played there (on the nearby golf courses( one in particular that isn't around any more is the Kenilsworth Course in Sebring, FL).

Any time a celebrity came thru, Margaret asked them to sign her book or sign something which she put in her book. It is in excellent condition although she did fold some of the items and then glue the back down but there is nothing on the other jade of each page so it could be carefully be cut apart. No worries - I haven't touched it yet! :-)

I was pretty freaked out because I didn't know much about sports autographs when I first started looking some of these names up. There's a mix of sports people, celebs and mystery people whose names I can't begin to read. They're probably the ones worth a gazillion dollars. :-))) good old
What's his name!

To give you an idea:

1. Cab Calloway
2. Benny Goodman
3. A beautiful inscribed signature from Grantland Rice.
4. A signature w inscription from E. Vines Jr.