PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Roy Campanella signature

edtiques
06-15-2016, 11:49 AM
Hi ...... I was hoping to get some opinions on this Roy Campanella autograph if it's authentic or not.Thanks in advance.

keithsky
06-15-2016, 05:28 PM
I'm no expert but I have had 5 Campanella index cards over the years and none have looked like that. The R just doesn't look like any I've had. His older autograph seem to have a little slant and flowed real good that one just seems like the letters are all over the place and not consistent with the ones I've had. Maybe it was signed by his wife just my opinion. I could be wrong. Hopefully others will chime in and you'll get more opinions. Coaches Corner ones seem to look like that.

jgmp123
06-15-2016, 06:10 PM
I say no. I've never seen a Roy like that.

RichardSimon
06-15-2016, 06:58 PM
Casper the friendly ghost signer.

GrayGhost
06-15-2016, 08:12 PM
Casper the friendly ghost signer.

I was

gonna say that was a fake campy, but I can't top this comment;)

mrmopar
06-16-2016, 07:48 PM
I think I was told at one time that this was his wife's version of his signature. I have one very similar to that on a 1974 or 75 Program that obviously couldn't have been signed by Roy, but was likely not a "fake" for the sake of fooling people. It also looks pretty close to the stamp that says the same thing that you see on 80s items.

batsballsbases
06-16-2016, 08:39 PM
Doesnt look good to me either. Here is a real pre accident sig I have.

RichardSimon
06-17-2016, 06:07 AM
I think I was told at one time that this was his wife's version of his signature. I have one very similar to that on a 1974 or 75 Program that obviously couldn't have been signed by Roy, but was likely not a "fake" for the sake of fooling people. It also looks pretty close to the stamp that says the same thing that you see on 80s items.

He also had a "Best Wishes Roy Campanella" stamp during the 1950's.
You see them sometimes on GPC's or 3x5's.

edtiques