PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

csotus
03-08-2016, 02:44 PM
Greetings all. I am just starting out and learning all I can on my own. I did have a few simple questions hopefully you can answer.

1. I am currently leaning toward collecting 3x5 index cards or possibly matting a full size picture over a card similar to the ebay auction below.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/191814360002?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

My question for this is, does the 3x5 autograph have significantly less value than a signed 8x10? I don't plan to flip any autos I purchase but I do want to be able to take pride in my collection.

2. When displaying autographs, is direct sunlight the only enemy that causes fading? What about low temperature or high humidity? I collect coins also so I am aware of the dangers of humidity; didn't know if that transferred to this hobby as well.

3. How do most people store/display their collection? I assume all highly valuable autos are in safes, I would love to get a wall but 8x10s take a lot of space once you get a decent number.

Thank you for any insight you might be able to give me.

earlywynnfan
03-08-2016, 03:44 PM
Greetings all. I am just starting out and learning all I can on my own. I did have a few simple questions hopefully you can answer.

1. I am currently leaning toward collecting 3x5 index cards or possibly matting a full size picture over a card similar to the ebay auction below.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/191814360002?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

My question for this is, does the 3x5 autograph have significantly less value than a signed 8x10? I don't plan to flip any autos I purchase but I do want to be able to take pride in my collection.

2. When displaying autographs, is direct sunlight the only enemy that causes fading? What about low temperature or high humidity? I collect coins also so I am aware of the dangers of humidity; didn't know if that transferred to this hobby as well.