PDA

View Full Version : Anybody do/thought about a HOF run?

jasonc
01-15-2016, 01:39 AM
Certainly there are set collectors that do set runs -- collecting the whole set for consecutive years, but are there people who collect only the hall of famers. It certainly won't keep costs down, but they don't have to worry about collecting the commons?
A run of hall of famers from 1952 - 1980 would look great together in binders, for those collecting low grade. In addition any new election to the hall of fame, keeps your collecting "fresh" as you have to hunt down that individual's cards.

Agdoc
01-15-2016, 06:20 AM
Long time lurker; first time poster. I've been doing this for the past 5 years in graded cards. Have nearly completed 1969-1986 in PSA 8 or better. Also finished 1954, 1956, 1957, 1961. Currently working on 33 Goudey, 1915 CJ, and T206. Makes it a lot easier to not have to buy low pop commons of players I have no desire to own just to complete a set. Also I don't need nearly as much space for storage.

tonyo
01-15-2016, 06:53 AM
Certainly there are set collectors that do set runs -- collecting the whole set for consecutive years, but are there people who collect only the hall of famers. It certainly won't keep costs down, but they don't have to worry about collecting the commons?
A run of hall of famers from 1952 - 1980 would look great together in binders, for those collecting low grade. In addition any new election to the hall of fame, keeps your collecting "fresh" as you have to hunt down that individual's cards.

I was inspired by this thread : http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=174273&highlight=completionist to attempt a run of topps/bowman regular issue hofer players only (no managers, execs,umps) 1948-1980. Fair/Good/VG condition. Mostly raw.