PDA

View Full Version : Ted Williams First Day Autograph

niembre
01-11-2016, 07:40 PM
I picked this up from a member of this site. It looks good to me. Just wondering what your thoughts are?
Thanks!

GrayGhost
01-12-2016, 01:30 PM
I saw that and know it was a reputable dealer on here. I just forget where. It looks fine, and if you were worried, you should have spoken to the dealer.

Klrdds
01-12-2016, 02:19 PM
My advice is to never buy and then after the purchase ask if it is good. Do your research first.

Gary Dunaier
01-22-2016, 07:44 AM
I'm not an expert, so take this with however many grains of salt as you wish.

This is a Gateway Sports cover, and they have a good reputation for getting authentic autographs on their envelopes. This is just me - Klrdds' advice to do your research first before buying is spot on - but I would not hesitate to trust the authenticity of an autograph on a Gateway Sports cover.

Here's an unusual Wayne Gretzky Gateway cover from 1982, where "The Great One" mistakenly signed inside the gold box (where the "silk" cachet image is supposed to be). Below the image is the relevant part of a 1994 flyer from dealer Steve Ciniglio explaining the background of the piece.

https://c2.staticflickr.com/8/7220/6958991448_090676d9fd_b.jpg

RichardSimon
01-22-2016, 04:05 PM
I saw that and know it was a reputable dealer on here. I just forget where. It looks fine, and if you were worried, you should have spoken to the dealer.

You saw it on the bay.
I don't believe I have ever seen a questionable autograph on any official Gateway issue. Though they do issue unsigned cachets and one of those may appear with a mystery signature.

dscards
01-22-2016, 06:04 PM
If it helps, here's my Williams from the same release for comparison. Was passed by PSA.
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m176/dscards33/Signed%20Photos/DSCN1545_zps3gnkzlsw.jpg (http://s104.photobucket.com/user/dscards33/media/Signed%20Photos/DSCN1545_zps3gnkzlsw.jpg.html)

Steve D