PDA

View Full Version : cap anson notre dame ebay

esd10
11-05-2015, 06:00 PM
it found this on ebay but the seller says it is from 1867 and anson played in 1870. http://www.ebay.com/itm/NOTRE-DAME-BASEBALL-TEAM-ORIGINAL-ALBUMEN-PHOTOGRAPH-c-1867-FEATURING-CAP-ANSON-/371480954005?hash=item567dfd8495:g:-rsAAOSwQoFWO5bv

GasHouseGang
11-05-2015, 06:18 PM
Well, according to Wikipedia, "Beginning in 1866, he spent two years at the high-school age boarding school of the University of Notre Dame after being sent there by his father in hopes of curtailing his mischievousness." If that's true, then 1867 makes sense. Hopefully all the face matching experts can take a look and tell if it's Anson.

esd10
11-05-2015, 06:31 PM
im not very good with the face recognition

ramram
11-05-2015, 08:07 PM
That's not an original image.

bmarlowe1
11-06-2015, 11:32 AM
I have seen this one before. Anson is not there.

Runscott
03-03-2016, 09:31 AM
I'm curious why you all are sure Anson isn't there, and why Rob thinks it isn't an original image.

We had this discussion back in 2011 when this was in Mile Hi, and I'm still not convinced it is not Anson. Back then I had additional information to share, but no one appeared interested so I kept it to myself. I've asked the seller for enlarged scans of two players in the photo, which could seal the deal for me.

But of course, if you are certain it's not Anson, and Rob is certain it's not an original image, then I'm wasting my time, as I certainly respect the opinions of both of you.

Leon
03-03-2016, 10:28 AM
That's not an original image.

I am most interested in this question of originality. As many were, I was considering bidding on it, even as only an original photo (without Anson). It's a great image.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NOTRE-DAME-BASEBALL-TEAM-ORIGINAL-ALBUMEN-PHOTOGRAPH-c-1867-FEATURING-CAP-ANSON-/371562431127?

GKreindler
03-03-2016, 10:47 AM
Wait, the fella right behind the priest is supposed to be Anson?

ramram