PDA

View Full Version : 1950 Bowman a good first set?

jared6180
10-28-2015, 11:08 PM
I'm completely new to vintage and I really like the looks of the 1950 Bowman Baseball set. Would anyone shed light on if this would be a good set to do for a first timer like me? Limited budget and this seems like a medium sized set. Not looking to compete with anyone on PSA for highest grades, just think it would be cool to have a complete PSA set. Really like that there are some stars in the set and no huge expensive RCs.

kailes2872
10-29-2015, 07:08 AM
I am working on this set currently as well. I am collecting a low-mid raw grade. It seems pretty easy to do as the card stock is relatively thick (not quite as thick as the berk ross cards of the era, but feels thicker than other issues - which might be an illusion due to the smaller sized cards).

I am about $1000 in with 17 cards to go. The 17 cards remaining are all relatively high value

6 Bob Feller
21 Pee Wee Reese
22 Jackie Robinson
23 Don Newcombe
32 Robin Roberts
33 Ralph Kiner
39 Larry Doby
43 Bobby Doerr
46 Yogi Berra
75 Roy Campanella
77 Duke Snider
84 Richie Ashburn
98 Ted Williams
112 Gil Hodges
148 Early Wynn
219 Hank Bauer
234 Bobby Shantz

I think that I have more left as far as cost than what I have put into the first 235.

Good luck to you!

Laxcat
10-29-2015, 07:42 AM
It's a good set. I'm about 90% done with mine with lots of dupes. So if you do decide to do it you will have at least one potential trading partner right here. The lo#'s can be tough. I'd suggest buying a few lots and trading/selling anything you don't need to keep costs down. Have fun. BTW it gets my vote for the best looking Bowman set.

PolarBear
10-29-2015, 12:11 PM
You can't go wrong. One of the best 50's sets out there.

ALR-bishop
10-29-2015, 01:35 PM
Jared--- FYI--- there is a thread on this same page started by another collector contemplating a run at this set.

pokerplyr80
10-29-2015, 02:55 PM