PDA

View Full Version : Ruth ball...is it real?

ullmandds
10-24-2015, 05:40 PM
A friend of mine showed me this and it does not look good to me what do you guys think ?

pokerplyr80
10-24-2015, 07:02 PM
I'm far from an autograph expert but the ink looks like it's aged much less than the ball. I would guess it's not real.

vintagesportscollector
10-24-2015, 07:14 PM
Babe Ruth, and the Yanks, did not play in the '30 World Series.

ullmandds
10-24-2015, 08:07 PM
Babe Ruth, and the Yanks, did not play in the '30 World Series.

Absolutely!

ullmandds
10-24-2015, 08:07 PM
I'm far from an autograph expert but the ink looks like it's aged much less than the ball. I would guess it's not real.

Agreed!

btcarfagno
10-24-2015, 08:45 PM
Likely a CC special.

Tom C

jerseygary
10-24-2015, 09:05 PM
Now I'm NOT saying this ball is legit - but Ruth (and a few other stars) were present and worked in some capacity as guest commentators/writers on the World Series even when they didn't play in it. Ruth's agent Christy Walsh would have The Babe give his opinion on the games and they would be re-written by ghost writers and syndicated across the country. Whether the ball is real or not I don't know but you can't discount it soley on the 1930 date.

btcarfagno
10-25-2015, 05:24 AM
Ruth was like the Bob Feller of his day. Authentic autographs can show up on just about anything. In that respect, he is a good forger's dream. Some times he just shows up on team signed balls from a different team of the era. A 1932 Tigers ball with 23 Tigers signatures.....and the Babe!

Tom C

JustinD
10-25-2015, 07:51 AM
I personally would not buy any ruth sig no matter what without auth.

That aside this throws fantasy flags -

The ink has not oxidized at all.

The damage to that ball is just way too white. It's not even aged a bit.