PDA

View Full Version : KC A's Charlie Finley Custom Green Bat

Ribbens
09-19-2015, 11:03 AM
Looking for a person who can help me find information out about a Louisville Slugger bat custom made with Charlie Finley's and the Kansas City Athletics name on it. This guy who showed it to me received from Finley himself when he was a kid growing up in Chicago.

UnVme7
09-19-2015, 12:58 PM
A green bat? You sure it's not a giveaway?

Tigerden
09-19-2015, 01:20 PM
I'm not a bat expert but player endorsed A's Green bats (Maris included) pop up from time to time and are highly sought after. Maybe a bat collector can chime in about their origin.

Ribbens
09-19-2015, 07:45 PM
I saw the bat myself and I know it is a custom bat made for Charlie Finley with his name on it. It also has the Kansas City Athletics name on the bat. The bat was given to him by Finley himself.

UnVme7
09-19-2015, 07:52 PM
So it was not one of these?

parker1b2
09-19-2015, 07:55 PM
http://www.crownsportsauction.com/lot-of-3-green-ofinley-bats-including-rare-35-ba-lot488.aspx

A lot of 3

UnVme7
09-19-2015, 07:58 PM
Ah, I see. When you hear green KC bats, I automatically think of the giveaways.

The bats in the listed auction I do not know anything about unfortunately.

Stonepony
09-20-2015, 08:06 AM
I bought one of the Little league green KC Athletic bats from a Sporting Good store in Kansas City late 60s. Was not a giveaway. I cant remember the player however.

MooseDog
09-20-2015, 10:56 AM
Don't know about Kansas City but when the A's were in Oakland they did have the green bats on "bat days". You got a random bat with the players Louisville Slugger autograph brand.

I vaugely remember that there were Finley bats, but being that 40 years have passed can't be 100% sure. Over time I've had ones of Campy, Bando, Jackson, Epstein, Rudi, Green, and Monday.