PDA

View Full Version : Hartland Statue Help!!!

conor912
09-14-2015, 01:47 PM
Hey guys,
I've always loved the Hartlands but don't know much about them. I've been offered a dozen of them but I know they were remade at least once. How do you tell if they are original? Here are pics of a few. Thanks in advance!

glynparson
09-14-2015, 02:00 PM
Those certainly appear to be the real deal 100% original issue.

khkco4bls
09-14-2015, 02:20 PM
They look like the real deal to me too

MK
09-14-2015, 02:20 PM
I'm no expert, though I do own a complete set of the originals. They have Hartland Plastics, Inc stamped on the back, belt or arm. I believe the anniversary edition ones are stamped "anniversary", although I've never seen one.

jcmtiger
09-14-2015, 02:26 PM
I'm no expert, though I do own a complete set of the originals. They have Hartland Plastics, Inc stamped on the back, belt or arm. I believe the anniversary edition ones are stamped "anniversary", although I've never seen one.

Yes, the new Hartlands have 25th anniversary on the back near the belt.

conor912
09-14-2015, 03:36 PM
Thanks, guys!

RobertC
09-14-2015, 04:33 PM
Anniversary edition on right, original on left

whiteymet
09-14-2015, 10:37 PM
As others have said. All shown are original. Congrats!

The 25th's were made using original statues to make molds for the 25th set. A small circle was punched out on the back just below the belt and a plug with 25 was inserted before the mold was made. Thus the 25th's are actually a little bit smaller than the originals since they came from the originals.

I have quite a few of the original statues used to make the molds. They are not in the best of shape now after the fact, but historically significant in my eyes.

Fred

icollectDCsports
09-15-2015, 03:06 PM
Were the original jerseys initially just as white as the 25ths? In other words, is the yellowing just a function of time?

whiteymet
09-15-2015, 04:19 PM