PDA

View Full Version : Is this possible?

PowderedH2O
08-17-2015, 08:51 AM
I saw this FDC signed by 15 golf champions and I took an interest in it. The price was a little high, but there were some deceased champions on it, so maybe not so horrible. Then I noticed something. The postmark is April 7, 1977. But, one of the signatures is of Vic Ghezzi who died in May of 1976. Is it common for envelopes to be signed before being postmarked? Or, is this just another forgery? PSA has given their approval (for whatever that's worth). I probably won't buy it because of the price, but is it legit?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GOLF-FDC-SIGNED-BY-15-LEGENDS-BYRON-NELSON-TREVINO-MIDDLECOFF-OTHERS-PSA-/251957522354?hash=item3aa9d6afb2

btcarfagno
08-17-2015, 08:59 AM
I am far from an expert on FDC's, so take this with a grain or two of salt.

The only way I can see this as being legit is if someone had a blank envelope signed which then became an FDC. I don't think that is how FDC's work, though I could be wrong. I have always thought that FDC's were produced by the Post Office, and thus you couldn't hand them an item and ask that it be made into an FDC.

I am also not much to know golf autographs, but it doesn't seem to me that someone would fake an autograph of a rather obscure golfer who won one major.

Strange piece to be sure. I would be very wary personally.

Tom C

autograf
08-17-2015, 09:03 AM
That envelope is also an envelope issued by the USPS with that 'stamp' as part of the envelope. Postal stationery is what it's called if I remember correctly, so it would have been issued only right around the actual date on the FDC......it's not like it was a blank envelope that could have contained a signature and then had a stamp affixed at a later time. I cannot possibly see how that Ghezzi autograph could be authentic with those circumstances................

bigfanNY
08-17-2015, 11:15 AM