PDA

View Full Version : It felt like 1960s all over again

billyb
07-11-2015, 01:50 AM
Hi All,
My name is Bill, I usually hang around the memorabilia, pre war, area, so I am new to most of you old 50s and 60 collectors.
My neighbors brother came over today and knowing I collect baseball cards and memorabilia, he handed me a plastic bag with cards inside. What do I have , he asked? These cards still had the 1960s rubber bands around the stacks. Geez!
The first thing I did was get him a trading card box to keep them in and then I started to take the rubber bands off and go through what he had.
This was a typical collection from the 60s, just like mine used to be. Cards were not in good shape, and the collection was not geared toward any certain year, or company, though most were Topps. They were not organized at all. I quickly spotted a Mantle, so I got some plastic holders for him, and began to spread out the collection, trying to keep the cards of interest, in one corner.
Besides the typical Topps, mostly middle to latter sixties, there were some earlier sixties and some latter fifties as well, even some 1972 Topps ( which I like).
A fair amount of Post cereal cards were there, 1963 Fleer, Some older Bowman, a few 1967 star trek cards, and Monkees cards were scattered inside.
The more I handled them, they were just like the cards my parents threw away. Nostalgia was starting to set in. My wallet kept kicking my in the keester saying, what the heck are you waiting for. Make an offer.
But my collection I have passed on to my son, so I just deal in memorabilia, or old photos any more. But this was tempting.
Look close and you see all the bad corners and creases, but that was how my old collection used to be, handled, not with care, as I use to flip cards, shuffle them from time to time, to create my own teams.
Yep, it felt like the sixties again, it felt good.
So I gave him the bad news stating, no he is not rich. He then asked, "what should I do with them"?