PDA

View Full Version : Ruth Photo - Type 1

Shoeless Moe
06-04-2015, 09:05 PM
or hard to say?

http://www.legendaryauctions.com/LotDetail.aspx?inventoryid=170705

So was it one, can it be told from the markings on the back, or is it not possible to say due to lack of info on the back?

Leon
06-05-2015, 07:01 AM
I have limited experience but I don't think that markings on the back are foolproof. I believe there will be a photo dealer in deep doo-doo, very soon, over fraudulently stamping some photos backs.

To me, it looks like a period vintage photo. It might have done better in a different venue.

Runscott
06-05-2015, 04:12 PM
I think the Ruth photo collectors spoke with their bidding. If they had been confident, it would have sold for way more.

sporteq
06-05-2015, 04:21 PM
20s/30s re-strike IMHO

Albert

drcy
06-06-2015, 01:43 PM
You have to see the photo in person to determine. I know what is the issue with this photo and why they worded the description that way with the highly unusual return guarantee, but it's something I'd have to see in person. You can't say just from the images.

Ignoring entirely the writing and stamping, it appears Legendary is confident the itself photo is original and just offering the winner the chance to have someone confirm.

sporteq
06-06-2015, 06:12 PM
You have to see the photo in person to determine.

Well yeah... I think most ppl are getting the feeling it's NOT 100% period off the negative. We'll probably never know.

Albert

Runscott
06-06-2015, 09:28 PM
You can't say just from the images.

The hammer indicates that there could be something the advanced Ruth collectors know that we don't - before dropping $5-20K on a photo you are going to do a bit more research than those participating in this thread have done (zero on my end). But I agree, nothing I see that gives it away as being anything but original, other than the odd curved trim at the bottom left. Perhaps the stamp or notes are a forger tell.