PDA

View Full Version : T206 Bates Variation?

Laxcat
05-04-2015, 11:46 AM
Hi y'all. Can anyone give me some info on this card? It seems to have no red in it whatsoever. Im not sure if that has anything to do with the Hindu back. Any help would be great. Thanks.

Luke
05-04-2015, 12:39 PM
The adhesive that was used on the back of the Hindu made the red fade. You see it a lot with t206 that have back damage and glue redsidue. The red fades first.

Laxcat
05-04-2015, 12:48 PM
Thanks man. I have had it forever and gave never before gotten a straight answer on it.

wazoo
05-04-2015, 12:48 PM
Looks like the red was never there in the first place. But I'm no expert.

Luke
05-04-2015, 12:54 PM
It's also possible that Wazoo is right. I've just seen so many cards missing the red that also have glue residue on the back, that I assume the glue removed it.

Another thing that I didn't think of initially is that red backgrounds came out looking differently on Hindus than the other 150 series print runs. A lot of the red background cards like Chance and Elberfeld came out looking orange. So, actually your red was probably pretty faint on the Bates to begin with.

I'm including my Chance Hindu to show what I'm talking about.

jhs5120
05-04-2015, 12:55 PM
Looks like the red was never there in the first place. But I'm no expert.

+1

No way that's just normal fading.

Also, I have minimal knowledge of the t206 set, but how much of a variation is there in the space between the player's name and bottom black border? There is a large difference between the two.

JohnP0621
05-04-2015, 01:03 PM
It looks like the card is missing the Red Color Pass. Does not look like the ones that The Glue Faded the Red. No signs of Red anywhere. Look at the Collar on his Shirt.

John P

z28jd
05-04-2015, 01:04 PM