PDA

View Full Version : Nasty ransom virus called Cryptowall 3.0 infected all my files

orator1
04-07-2015, 08:44 PM
My computer recently got hit with a horrible ransomware virus called Cryptowall 3.0 that locked every image, document, pdf, etc. file.

The virus infects every drive connected to your computer, so if your backup drive or USB drive is connected - like mine were - they also get locked. The virus creates impossible to open encrypted copies of every file on your computer and deletes all your original files. The only way you can open your now encrypted files is to pay the $500 ransom in Bitcoins, which increases to a $1000 ransom after 7 days. Once they verify your Bitcoin payment a "key" is sent to you which will unlock your files.

I haven't paid the ransom yet because I'm still researching this virus, and because I've never used Bitcoins before. I have a lot of scans of vintage cards, memorabilia, and family photos on my computer that have taken many years to accumulate, so losing them would be a huge personal loss.

But I just wanted to warn anybody who thinks their files are safe because you have a backup - that they are not necessarily safe. I learned the hard way that once you back up your files you must UNPLUG your backup drive and USB drives from your computer, otherwise the virus can infect them too.

irishdenny
04-07-2015, 09:01 PM
Paul,
Thanks fir the Heads uP... I am Really Sorry to hear of Your Troubles, Sounds like We are all at Risk!
I do hope fir a quick resolve fir Your/Our situation. A lot of us MiGHT Be RiGHT behind You...

Do You Recall Any Details from Your Inception of the Virus?

orator1
04-07-2015, 09:28 PM
Denny,