PDA

View Full Version : Why collect T206?

xplainer
03-18-2015, 06:55 PM
I'm new to the T206 set, but have collected baseball for 40 or so years now. One day, I purchased my first T206 card.
It was a PSA 1 Leach, Piedmont. I had no idea what the back meant at the time, it was just a card 100 years old. Of course, everyone knows about the Wagner card, but I started looking into "The Monster". Reading everything I could find on the internet.

Then it happened. I didn't care about the new Bowman Chrome, Upper Deck stuff or even the Topps issues. T206 was all I was thinking about.

Reading about it, learning about the backs and the possible combinations, the stories of the players, the fact these cards are still around after 100 years. The fact that these guys are the pioneers of the game I love.

I haven't made a card purchase in probably four months that wasn't T206. I am obsessed with them and can read about/look at them for hours on end.

I am currently trying sell all my "vintage" and current cards and moving all my assets to the Monster.

Collecting has never been more enjoyable.:)

OK, what's your story with the T206 set?

When, How and Why.

Thanks.

-Jimmy

vthobby
03-18-2015, 07:03 PM
Jimmy,

Enjoyed your notes.

I was a youngster back in the late 70s/early 80s and I'll never forget my first T206 purchase. It was through the "Trader Speaks" magazine and I sent a check (my parent's check after I reimbursed them!) for around $15 or so. I waited for it seemed like forever and voila.....Sam Crawford T206!

The set is timeless like a good song or good wine. I can't say that I gave up everything else because I love collecting/dealing but if you have not collected T206 cards then you are missing out on the very history of the game.

Peace, Mike

kamikidEFFL
03-18-2015, 07:05 PM