PDA

View Full Version : Fake '33 Goudey Ruth #149

baseballandhockeyfan
03-16-2015, 11:38 PM
I'm a bit of a newbie, so please forgive me if these are stupid questions...

Here is the eBay listing:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1933-Goudey-149-PSA-7-Babe-Ruth-Fake-reprint-/291409229649?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43d957f751

I haven't compared this card against scans of other '33 Goudey Ruth #149 cards, but for all of you experts out there, if the seller didn't disclose that this is a fake, would you have been able to tell that it is a fake by looking at the fuzzy pictures in his listing?

Also, the seller doesn't really provide a full frontal picture of the PSA holder, but he does provide a partial front pic as well as a full, but fuzzy, pic of the back of the holder. If not for the 3rd picture where the seller shows the opening in the holder would you have been able to tell from his fuzzy scans that the PSA holder has been compromised (or maybe that it is a fake holder??)

Assuming the seller had provided clearer pics, do you think you would have been able to tell that this was a fake / compromised holder without having the card in hand?

ezez420
03-17-2015, 06:05 AM
No. Probably not.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

1952boyntoncollector
03-17-2015, 06:08 AM
I'm a bit of a newbie, so please forgive me if these are stupid questions...

Here is the eBay listing:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1933-Goudey-149-PSA-7-Babe-Ruth-Fake-reprint-/291409229649?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43d957f751

I haven't compared this card against scans of other '33 Goudey Ruth #149 cards, but for all of you experts out there, if the seller didn't disclose that this is a fake, would you have been able to tell that it is a fake by looking at the fuzzy pictures in his listing?