PDA

View Full Version : Ken griffey jr no name 89 UD rookie

tnbaseball87
12-23-2014, 06:27 PM
Hello this is my first time posting. Glad to find such a website. I've collected since about 96. Anyway I have seen on ebay a few times rarely no name upper deck cards but I was able to acquire this. How rare is this card? Thanks!

tnbaseball87
12-23-2014, 06:31 PM
Here it is hopefully

tnbaseball87
12-23-2014, 06:35 PM
Closed listing from ebay

cardsfan73
12-23-2014, 07:07 PM
Pretty sure these are fake. From what I remember you could use a pencil eraser to remove the names. Welcome to the forum!

Shoebox
12-24-2014, 11:08 AM
I would be very skeptical that they are authentic.

mrmopar
12-24-2014, 01:07 PM
Scary! I just made one in a couple of minutes. I can tell if I hold it up at an angle to the light that some rubbing occurred. In fact, i missed a spot of his last name that you can see in the scan. It is obvious if you are looking for it, but I also know that I did it and am looking for it specifically. Someone not looking closely could probably be fooled. This was a quick try based on the comments above. I'm guessing someone could perfect this method over time on junk cards and then work up a Griffey or other better card for big bucks!

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a81/mrmopar/Photos/UDNNOFFAKE_zpsb674caef.jpg (http://s9.photobucket.com/user/mrmopar/media/Photos/UDNNOFFAKE_zpsb674caef.jpg.html)

mrmopar
12-24-2014, 01:12 PM
Card is now on ebay with a BIN of $20 just to see what happens!!

mrmopar
12-24-2014, 01:14 PM
KIDDING, OF COURSE! Now it is a rare voided, black logo 1/1!!

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a81/mrmopar/UDNNOFFAKE-1_zps491e348f.jpg (http://s9.photobucket.com/user/mrmopar/media/UDNNOFFAKE-1_zps491e348f.jpg.html)

ALR-bishop
12-25-2014, 12:54 PM
This was fascinating

swarmee
12-25-2014, 03:16 PM