PDA

View Full Version : Did The Auction House Handle My Complaint Correctly?

Buythatcard
12-17-2014, 04:36 PM
I have been doing business with a major Auction House for several years. In fact I have won items totaling $111,000. So, I would say that I have been a pretty decent customer of theirs.

Last week, I won a few graded cards, They arrived in the mail yesterday and one of slabs was broken on the back. It did not break during delivery because it was packed pretty well. I am pretty sure it was broken when they listed it.

Okay, it could happen so I contacted them and asked them what I should do with it. They said mail it back and they will have it reslabbed. They also mentioned that I would be responsible for the shipping costs back to them.

That's when I got all pissed. They sent the damaged merchandise but they expect me to pay for the shipping costs to return this item.

I told them that was a poor response and would probably take my business somewhere else if they don't resolve this.

Am I wrong?

ullmandds
12-17-2014, 04:38 PM
I am with you... They should pay.

seablaster
12-17-2014, 04:41 PM
Am I wrong?

No.

If I had spent that kind of coin with an auction house, I would expect exquisite service in all aspects.

JollyElm
12-17-2014, 04:43 PM
They should do the right thing and pay for the shipping. This is beyond dispute. And if they need another reason to act properly, your second sentence says all they need to know: "In fact I have won items totaling $111,000."

canjond
12-17-2014, 04:49 PM
Guess I'm in the minority here, but paying the shipping costs back doesn't offend me at all (and frankly, I'd expect to have to).

t206hound
12-17-2014, 05:03 PM
I have been doing business with a major Auction House for several years. In fact I have won items totaling $111,000. So, I would say that I have been a pretty decent customer of theirs.